Energy in Mississippi

“Energy is a strength for Mississippi, and is an important part of our economy’s future. Through public policy, our goal is to encourage more investment in energy in all of its various forms.”

Key Energy Leaders (2012-2015 term)

Angela Cockerham – Energy Committee, Chairman

Jim Beckett – Public Utilities, Chairman

Jeff Smith – Ways and Means, Chairman

Donnie Bell – Workforce Development, Chairman

Notable Legislative Accomplishments

HB 844 (Smith – 2013) – Eliminated sales tax on energy used in manufacturing, increasing MS’s competitive position in recruitment

HB 841 (Smith – 2013) – Eliminated sales tax on electric power used in CO2-based oil recovery, a key driver in Mississippi oil production

HB 1281 (Cockerham – 2013) – Raised commercial energy efficiency standards for MS, leading southeastern states in adopting the new standard

HB 1698 (Cockerham – 2013) – reduced severance tax on oil from horizontal wells to encourage more industry investment in MS geologic plays.